Summary

The Bearing Witness site’s Bigger Picture page presents the Bearing Witness – Gaza Document, attributed to Mordechai, as “the foundational, evolving archive of the reality in Gaza since October 7”, providing an analytical and evidentiary breakdown of major events through diverse methodologies and primary testimonies, here in version v6.7.0, last updated July 5, 2025 (Bearing Witness to the Israel-Gaza War, line 76). The page itself gives no chapter content: it is a contents list for the document — an Introduction (Summary, Professional and Ethical Statement, Preface), eight Main Chapters from The Massacre of Palestinians to US Involvement, three Zoom In items (the second raid of al-Shifa, US Campus Protests, and the North Gaza Operation), and two Appendices (Why Genocide? and Methodology) — each with its own last-updated date, most of them June 18, 2024 (lines 86-220).

What the file is

  • A web page, Bigger Picture — Bearing Witness (line 3), downloaded from https://bearing-witness.com/bigger-picture/ (access basis: author-copy). The original is the HTML page; the text copy supplied with it (about 340 words, lines 1-224) is a plain-text rendering of that page, with no page markers, so locators are line numbers. Line 224 is the empty line after the text copy’s final newline.
  • The date used for this page and its file name, July 5, 2025, is the document’s stated “Last Updated” date for version v6.7.0 (lines 78-80); the page gives no earlier or original publication date. In the original HTML the “full document file” link (line 82) points to a PDF named Gaza_English-v6.7.0-5.7.25.pdf, repeating the version and that date in day-month-year form; the PDF itself is not part of this source.
  • Text quality: the text copy matches the original HTML’s visible text throughout. The page’s only prose is its one-paragraph description of the document (line 76); everything else is site navigation, the contents list, and the footer. No author is named anywhere in the text copy or the original HTML’s visible text (see Open questions).
  • The site frame appears twice (lines 7-38 and 40-69) and offers the project in Hebrew, English and Arabic, the language names printed in Hebrew and Arabic script at lines 33 and 64.

Section by section

  • Site frame (lines 1-69): a lone “1” (line 1), the page title, and navigation given twice — About the Project (About the Project, FAQ, In The Media, Media Kit); The Document - The Bigger Picture; A Deeper Look (Articles, Map of Gaza: Assessment of Damage, Starvation Report, Destruction of the Healthcare System Report); Evidence (Archive, Testimonies, Statements Catalog); language choice; and Contact Us (Contact, Volunteer).
  • Heading and description (lines 72-84): “The bigger picture” and “Bearing Witness – Gaza Document”, the self-description quoted in the Summary, “Last Updated: July 5, 2025”, “Version: v6.7.0”, and links to a “full document file” and “Previous Versions”, neither target spelled out in the text copy.
  • Introduction (lines 86-110): 01 Summary, 02 Professional and Ethical Statement, and 03 Preface, each “Last updated: November 29, 2024”.
  • Main Chapters (lines 112-176): 04 The Massacre of Palestinians, last updated July 5, 2025 — the only chapter carrying the document’s own update date; 05 Causing Deaths of Civilian Populations, June 18, 2024; 06 Dehumanization, June 18, 2024; 07 Ethnic Cleansing, June 18, 2024; 08 Hostages, March 9, 2025; 09 The West Bank, June 18, 2024; 10 The Media and Propaganda, June 18, 2024; 11 US Involvement, June 18, 2024.
  • Zoom In (lines 178-202): 01 Second raid of al-Shifa (March 2024), June 18, 2024; 02 US Campus Protests (April-May 2024), June 18, 2024; 03 North Gaza Operation (Oct.-Dec. 2024), December 5, 2024.
  • Appendices (lines 204-220): 01 Why Genocide?, June 18, 2024; 02 Methodology, November 29, 2024.
  • Footer (lines 222-223): ”© 2026 Bearing Witness. All rights reserved.”, followed by “FacebookInstagram” run together.

Key passages

  • “This document serves as the foundational, evolving archive of the reality in Gaza since October 7.” (line 76)
  • “It provides an extensive analytical and evidentiary breakdown of major events, structured through diverse methodologies and primary testimonies.” (line 76)

Evidence the work relies on

  • No document, statistic, testimony or other source is cited on this page. Its only evidentiary claim is its self-description: the document it lists is said to be structured through “diverse methodologies and primary testimonies” (line 76).
  • The evidence the document itself relies on is in the linked “full document file” and in the chapters and appendices the page lists by title (lines 82, 86-220); none of that content is part of this source, so none of it is recorded here.

Analysis

  • Method: a contents and landing page for an evolving document, not the document itself. It establishes the document’s existence, its version (v6.7.0), its stated purpose and structure, and a revision date for the whole and for each part — and nothing about any chapter’s argument, evidence or conclusions, which stand or fall in files not ingested here.
  • Perspective and limits: the framing is the project’s own — the document is presented as the foundational archive of “the reality in Gaza since October 7” (line 76), and its chapter titles (The Massacre of Palestinians, Ethnic Cleansing, Why Genocide?) state its terms. No opposing account, author statement or methodology is given on the page; the Methodology appendix is listed by title only.
  • Support and revision pattern: the per-part dates show an unevenly revised work. Six of the eight Main Chapters, two of the three Zoom In items and the Why Genocide? appendix all carry June 18, 2024; the Introduction and the Methodology appendix carry November 29, 2024; the North Gaza Operation item carries December 5, 2024; Hostages carries March 9, 2025; and only The Massacre of Palestinians carries the whole document’s July 5, 2025 date (lines 88-220). The page does not say what changed in any update.

People, organizations, places and events

Lee Mordechai, Bearing Witness, Gaza, West Bank, Shifa Hospital, United States

Concepts

Ethnic Cleansing, Genocide

How it relates to other sources

  • With Debunking the Genocide Allegations: A Reexamination of the Israel-Hamas War from October 7, 2023 to June 1, 2025: direct continuation, and disagreement left standing. Orbach, Boxman, Henkin and Braverman use Lee Mordechai’s database and document — cited there as Witnessing the Gaza War, in a March 2025 version — as a principal compilation of the genocide and war-crimes allegations they review and rebut. This page presents a later state of a Mordechai Gaza document, version v6.7.0 of July 5, 2025, under the title Bearing Witness – Gaza Document, with its Hostages chapter dated March 9, 2025. Because the page gives no content, it neither answers nor confirms any of Orbach et al.’s detailed criticisms of the earlier version; it records that the document continued to be updated after the version they studied. Whether the two titles name the same document is not stated on this page (see Open questions).
  • With A Textbook Case of Genocide and The Continuation of Zionist Settler Colonialism: agreement of terms only, at title level. The document’s appendix “Why Genocide?” and its chapters on ethnic cleansing and dehumanization use the same terms those works argue with in full; this page supplies no argument of its own to set beside theirs.
  • What is new: the wiki’s first record of the document from the project itself rather than through Orbach et al.’s rebuttal — its current title, version, structure of sixteen listed parts, and its per-part revision dates to July 5, 2025.

Open questions

  • No author is named in the text copy or in the original HTML’s visible text. The page is filed under Mordechai as delivered; its identity with the Witnessing the Gaza War document that Debunking the Genocide Allegations: A Reexamination of the Israel-Hamas War from October 7, 2023 to June 1, 2025 attributes to Lee Mordechai is not stated on the page itself, and the two titles differ. Both titles are held, not reconciled.
  • The page gives no original publication date; the date used here is its stated last update, July 5, 2025, for version v6.7.0 (lines 78-80). Its footer reads ”© 2026 Bearing Witness” (line 222), a year after that update; the two dates stand as printed.
  • Line 1 is a lone “1” with no heading or explanation in either copy.
  • The “full document file”, the “Previous Versions” and every chapter, Zoom In item and appendix are linked from this page but are not part of this source; their contents, and what any update changed, cannot be checked from this source.
  • The description dates the document’s coverage “since October 7” without giving a year (line 76).

Coverage

lines 1-224 of 224, read in full